12 Parliamentary committees abolished

With the proroguing of Parliament, 12 parliamentary committees have been abolished.

Deputy Secretary-General of Parliament Neil Iddawela said the Committee on Public Accounts, Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE), Committee on Public Petitions and the House Committee will be abolished.

In addition Ministerial Consultative Committees, Legislative Standing Committees, as well as the Committee on Ethics and Privileges, will also be abolished.

However, the Committee on High Posts and the Sectoral Oversight Committees will be able to function under the provisions of the new standing orders.