Examination of FR petitions challenging dissolution of parliament begins

The examination of petitions filed with the Supreme Court challenging the dissolution of Parliament commenced this morning (December 05) before a 07 judge bench.

The judge bench comprises of Chief Justice Nalin Perera, Justices Buwaneka Aluvihare, Sisira De Abrew, Priyantha Jayawardena, Prasanna Jayawardena, Vijith Malalgoda and Murdhu Fernando.

13 petitions were filed with the Supreme Court challenging the gazette notification issued by President Maithripala Sirisena while several others appeared as intervenors.

Last evening, 10 UPFA MPs filed a petition with the Supreme Court requesting to appear as intervenors for the matter of the petitions filed challenging the dissolution of Parliament.