Will Rahul Gandhi resign after throwing Congress party into chaos after the massive loss ?

Indian media reports that, in the wake of the Congress’ weak performance in the Lok Sabha polls, Rahul Gandhi is prepared to resign as President of the Indian National Congress.

However, Congress spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala denied such reports. Indian media further reported that Gandhi told a group of senior Congress leaders that he takes full responsibility for the election defeat and that he is willing to resign as the party’s president. Reports further reveal that Rahul Gandhi is expected to offer his resignation when the Congress Working Committee, the party’s top decision-making body, meets tomorrow to discuss several important matters.

Meanwhile, three senior Congress leaders from Uttar Pradesh, Odisha and Karnataka have resigned from their respective positions. In the wake of the Congress’ weak performance in the Lok Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh, state party president Raj Babbar resigned from his position.

The Congress lost Amethi to BJP’s Smriti Irani, a seat Rahul Gandhi held on to since 2004. However, Indian media reported that Rahul Gandhi will enter the Lok Sabha from Wayanad in Kerala. Amethi district president of the Congress party, Yogendra Mishra resigned from his position, taking responsibility for the party’s defeat in Amethi.

Campaign committee chairman of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee H. K. Patil has tendered his resignation following the Congress’ debacle in the parliamentary elections in the state.

Defeating both the Congress and the BJP, The YSR Congress Party, led by Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, stormed to power in Andhra Pradesh with a landslide victory, winning 148 seats in the 175-member Assembly. Jagan, as the YSR Congress chief is popularly known, will be taking oath as the new Chief Minister on May 30 in Vijayawada.

Meanwhile, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and Telugu Desam Party chief N Chandrababu Naidu submitted his resignation after the YSRCP recorded a landslide victory in assembly elections. As per election results announced yesterday, Modi’s BJP party combined with the party’s allies, secured 351 seats while the main opposition Congress party secured only 92 seats.

Leaders across the world have congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi on his historic electoral victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.