Yellow landslide alert for 5 districts

A level 1 Yellow alert remains in place for 5 districts due to the possibility of landslides.

The Yellow alert was issued since the rainfall within the past 24 hours has exceeded 75mm. The National Building Research Organisation (NBRO) warns residents in the following areas to be watchful on the possibility of landslides, slope failures, rock falls, cutting failures and ground subsidence in case the areas continue to receive rainfall.

People have been advised to immediately move away from areas where they notice pre-landslide signs such as sudden cracks on the ground or on the walls or floors. Communities have been advised to follow the instructions given by the National Building Research Organization and Disaster Management Center.

The landslide warning is in effect for the following areas …

Ratnapura district – Balangoda, Imbulpe and surrounding areas

Badulla district – Haldummulla, Passara, Lunugala, Ella, Haliela, Badulla, Haputale, Bandarawela, Soranathota,
Uva Paranagama, Welimada and surrounding areas.

Kegalle district -Dehiowita, Warakapola, Ruwanwella, Deraniyagala, Yatiyantota and surrounding areas.

Kandy district – Udunuwara, Udapalatha, Pathahewaheta, Gangawatakorale and surrounding areas.